Dexter Dvergsten Dominates in POWRi Lightning Sprint National Point Championship



Dexter Dvergsten Dominates in POWRi Lightning Sprint National Point Championship

Belleville, IL. (11/20/23) Deciding the dedicated and difficult task of yearly title-clinching pursuits, the POWRi Lightning Sprint Division would witness the dominating drives of Dexter Dvergsten reign supreme in the sophomore season of the National Points Championship presented by Henchcraft of Canada.

Driving the always impressive Benitt Construction, Storm Insurance, Todds Electric, NAPA, One Better Liquor, RCCA Coop, Premier Ag, Spina Custom Ag Service, S Ridge Ranch, Waage Farms – Purina Feeds, Backwoods Services, C&M Ford, Roseau County Ford, Johnson Paint & Repair, Remedies Bar & Grills, Diablo Fabrication #11; Dexter Dvergsten, of Greenbush MN, would acquire an impressive thirteen wins on the season as well as boasting consistency with top-ten finishes in twenty-three of his twenty-five seasonal starts.

Clinching the second seasonal National Championship honor while representing the POWRi Minn-Kota Lightning Sprint Series presented by Olsen Underground, Dexter Dvergsten would remain a top driver throughout the division by moving his POWRi Lightning Sprint career-win count to forty in the past four seasons second only to Johnny Boos(RMLSA) with forty-six.

FINAL Top-10 2023 POWRi Lightning Sprint National Points Standings | As of 11/20/23:

  1. Dexter Dvergsten(15) 4390, 2. Alex Truscinski(15) -270, 3. Kate Taves(15) -380, 4. Kelsi Pederson(15) -410, 5. Dylan Langevin(15) -430, 6. Mathew Taves(15) -450, 7. Alan Truscinski(15) -490, 8. Brent Sexton(15) -910, 9. Josiah King(15) 930, 10. Johnny Boos(15) -940.
    Championship Banquet information for all 2023 POWRi Seasons as well as the full 2024 Schedules are currently being finalized and will be released in the upcoming weeks. The full breakdown of the Final POWRi Lightning Sprint National Points System presented by Henchcraft of Canada can be found online at
    Regional 2023 POWRi Champions:
    • MLS Champion: -
    • MKLS Champion: Mathew Taves
    • RMLS Champion: Josh Flood
    • SWLS Champion: -

More information about the POWRi Midwest Lightning Sprint can be found online at, or on Facebook.
Future updates and information regarding the POWRi Olson Underground Minn-Kota Lightning Sprints can be found at or follow along on social media.

For more information on the POWRi EMi Rocky Mountain Lightning Sprint Association visit or Facebook @RMLSA.

Updates on the POWRi Southwest Lightning Sprint Car Series can be found at or follow along on Facebook.

Follow along for more information on the further growth of the POWRi Lightning Sprints Division and other items such as complete schedules, race recaps, updates, full results, and press releases online at, or Instagram at @POWRi_Racing or on Facebook at POWRi.

Photo Credit: Lisa Jean Designs Photography and Graphic Design

Submitted By: Cassy Staley

Back to News